Mudashiru Obasa elected Speaker of Lagos State House of Assembly

Fourth term member of the Lagos State House of Assembly and representative of Agege Constituency 1, Mudashiru Obasa, was on Monday elected as the Speaker for the eighth session of the State Assembly.

His election confirmed earlier reports that Obasa had been endorsed for the position at a meeting of the leaders of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and members-elect of the House.

Surprisingly, Obasa was proposed as the Speaker by one of his major contenders, Moshood Oshun, representing Lagos Mainland Constituency 2.

Oshun’s motion was seconded by Sola Giwa, a fresh lawmaker for the Lagos Island Constituency 2.

Obasa accepted the nomination at exactly 11:15am Monday.

Wasiu Eshilokun-Sanni was nominated and approved for the position of Deputy Speaker of the House by another lawmaker, Gbolahan Yishawu, representing Eti-Osa Constituency 2.

Eshilokun-Sanni, who has a Masters in International Law and Diplomacy and was a member of the House between 1999 and 2003, returned to the House 12 years after taking up various political offices including as Local Government chairman in Lagos State.

Other pricipal officers of the House elected today are: Majority Leader: Sanai Agunbiade; Deputy Leader: Olumuyiwa Jimoh; Chief Whip: Rotimi Abiru and Deputy Whip: Omotayo Oduntan.

The positions of Minority Leader and Deputy Minority Leader would be filled at the next sitting of the House.

Credit: PM News