APC lawmakers losses out in bid to impeach Gov. Fayose

The 19 All Progressives Congress lawmakers in the Ekiti State House of Assembly have lost out in their bid to impeach Governor Ayodele Fayose, following the expiration of their tenure on June 4 in compliance with the 1999 constitution.

To this end, a new Assembly would be inaugurated on Friday, June 5, following the expiration of the tenure of the beleaguered Assembly.

The 4th Assembly, which was statutorily due for inauguration on June 4, began legislative duty on June 6, 2011 by ex-governor Kayode Fayemi.

The State had been embroiled in crisis and witnessed serious anxiety since Monday, sequel to widespread rumour that the lawmakers, led by Speaker Adewale Omirin were allegedly planning to invade the State and begin the impeachment process against the governor.

To stave off impeachment hammer, the PDP members had blocked all the entry points to the State and prevented free flow of human and vehicular movement into Ekiti.

The lawmakers had on April 4, 2015 issued a notice of impeachment to Fayose, citing cases of gross misconduct and flagrant abuse of office.

Fayose, who could not hide his joy, said in a state-wide broadcast on Ekiti State Broadcasting Service that reprieve has come for his government following the exit of the 19 APC lawmakers from the Assembly.

The Governor thanked the commercial drivers and motorcyclists, the members of his party, market men and women and prominent citizens of the State for their unflinching support.
“In view of my travail in the hands of the out-gone lawmakers, reprieve has now come to my government and I can now feel like a governor.

“By tomorrow, Friday, June 5, I shall be embarking on a town procession in Ado Ekiti to thank my people for their supports. I want you to meet me at Fajuyi Park where I am going to commence the procession and move round to give glory to God and humanity”, Fayose stated.
Credit: Olakiitan Victor/ThisDay