APC's Aminu Masari wins Katsina governorship election

A former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Masari, has won the governorship election in Katsina State on the platform of All Progressives Congress, APC.

The Returning Officer, Lawal Bilbis, said on Sunday that Mr. Masari polled 943,085 votes to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Musa Nashuni, who scored 476,768 votes in the Saturday election.

Mr. Bilbis said that PDM candidate, Yakubu Lado, got 50,361 votes, while Umar Abdullahi of APGA secured 42,302 votes.

According to the retuning officer, seven political parties took part in the election.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, Aminu Bello Masari of APC is declared the winner and returned elected,’’ Mr. Bilbis, a professor, announced.

He said the election was free, fair and conducted in accordance with the law.