APC's Abiola Ajimobi wins Oyo state governorship election; ...breaks Oyo re-election jinx

Governor Abiola Ajimobi has been declared the winner of the governorship election in the western Nigerian state of Oyo, breaking the jinx of governors not winning a second term.

According to the results by the returning officer, Professor Ayobami Salami,, Ajimobi won 327,310 votes, to thrash keen contestants, such as former governor, Rasheed Ladoja and former governor, Alao Akala.

Ladoja, who ran on the platform of Accord Party came second with 254,520 votes and Adebayo Alao Akala, candidate of Labour Party came third with 184,111 votes.

The PDP candidate, Teslim Folarin emerged fourth with 79,019 votes. The SDP candidate, Seyi Makinde also got 54,740 votes.

Three of the parties also shared the house of assembly seats, with APC winning 18, Accord 8 seats and Labour Party 6 seats.

Credit: TheNews