Governors Aliyu Wamakko, Jonah Jang, Theodore Orji and Godswill Akapbio wins Senatorial seats

Governors Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto), Jonah David Jang (Plateau), Theodore Orji (Abia), Godswill Akapbio (Akwa Ibom) and incumbent senator and former governor of Kwara State, Senator Bukola Saraki, and former Governor of Ebonyi State Dr. Sam Egwu, all won their senatorial districts elections to book their seats in the senate in the next dispensation.

Also victorious in the senatorial election are incumbent senator, Andy Uba; former Minister of Aviation, Stella Oduah and and member, House of Representatives, Mrs. Uche Ekwunife, all from Anambra State.

However, it was also one election that produced shocking results as Governors Isa Yuguda (Bauchi), Gabriel Suswam(Bauchi), and Usman Dakingari (Kebbi), Senate Committee on Finance and former governor of Kaduna State, Senator Ahmed Makarfi, and Senate Leader, Senator Abdul Ningi, all failed to book a place in the senate.

Others who failed to win the senate seats are the Chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Chief Victor Umeh; former Governor of Anambra State and incubent senator, Dr. Chris Ngige; former Executive Vice-Chairman of Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Mr. Ernest Ndukwe.

In Bauchi, Yuguda lost his bid to represent Bauchi South senatorial district in the Senate as he was beaten in a landslide victory by Mallam Ali Wakili, a retired Comptroller of Customs.

Declaring the results, the Collating Officer and Rector of the Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi, Dr. Shuibu Musa, announced that Wakili of the All Progressives Congress scored a total of 341,708 to defeat Yuguda of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 115, 575 votes.

In Benue State, Suswam lost Benue North East senatorial election to incumbent Senator Barnabas Gemade.

Announcing the results, Prof. Ignatius Ada declared that Gemade scored the highest votes of 140,715 to defeat Suswam who polled a total of 118, 603 votes with a wide margin of 22,112.

Benue North East senatorial district comprises of seven local government areas, Kwande, Ushongo, Vandeikya, Logo, Ukum, Katsina-Ala and Konshisha. Gemade is from Konshisha, while Suswam is from Logo.

Also Ningi of the PDP lost his bid to return to the Senate as he was defeated by Isah Hamma Misau of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Collation Officer for the Bauchi Central, Dr. Mohammed Salisu Yakubu, while declaring the results yesterday, announced that Misau scored 208,741 votes while Senator Ningi scored 57,172 votes.

In Anambra State where there was a major upset, Uba defeated Ndukwe by 109,060 votes to 73,416, while Ngige and Umeh lost to Ekwunife. Ekwunife who polled 101,54 while Umeh scored 77,129 and Ngige 20,850 votes.

In Anambra North senatorial zone, Oduah of the PDP polled a total of 143,478 votes to emerge winner as against 70,906 votes polled by Chief Dubem Obaze of APGA who placed second, while Chief Raphael Okeke of APC got 5,891 votes to come third.

Credit: ThisDay