Controversial Police AIG, Joseph Mbu redeployed to Lagos

The Inspector-General of Police, Suleiman Abba, has redeployed 14 Assistant Inspectors-General of Police to various departments, zonal commands and formations of the force.

One of them is the AIG in charge of Zone 7, Abuja, Joseph Mbu who was moved to Lagos in what was gathered was informed by the general elections.

The Force Public Relations Officer, Emmanuel Ojukwu, in a statement in Abuja on Tuesday, however, said that the exercise was due to the promotion of some senior officers and vacancies occasioned by retirements.

Mbu, a former Rivers State Commissioner of Police, had a running battle with Governor Rotimi Amaechi. Shortly after he was transferred to the Federal Capital Territory as CP in September last year, he described himself as a lion who tamed ‘‘the leopard of Port Harcourt” in apparent reference to the Rivers State governor.

As the CP in charge of the FCT, he issued a directive banning the #BringBackOurGirls coalition from holding street protests, but he was overruled by the then IG, Mohammed Abubakar. The BBOG however sued the police and the case was decided in their favour.

Just last week, he threatened to “bring down” any community that killed policemen in the course of duty.

Others affected by the movements which took immediate effect are Aderenle Shinaba, who goes to Zone 4 in Makurdi, Benue State; Johnson Ogunsakin of Training and Development; Zone 6, Calabar in Cross River State; and Patrick Dokumor of the Nigerian Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies, Jos in Plateau, Zone 7, Abuja.

Ikemefuna Okoye of the Ogun State Command Command goes to Zone 11, Osogbo in Osun State; Kalafite Adeyemi (Commandant of the Police Staff College, Jos, Plateau State), was deployed to the Maritime Force Headquarters; Jubrin Adeniji of the Maritime FHQ was moved to the 2i/C Force Criminal Investigation Department, FHQ; and Olufemi Adenaike of the Nigerian Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies in Jos to the Training Unit of the FHQ.

Lawal Tanko of the Federal Operations was redeployed to the Police Mobile Force, FHQ, Abuja; Ballah Nasarawa of the Intelligence Unit to the Police Staff College, Jos; and Umaru Manko of Zone 2, Lagos to NIPSS Kuru.

Irimiya Yerima of NIPSS goes to the Communication Department in FHQ, Abuja; and Mark Idakwo of Zone 6, Calabar moves to Federal Operations, Abuja.

Those who were retained in their zones and formations are Tambari Muhammed, AIG Zone 1, Kano; Mohammed Abubakar, Zone 3, Yola; Musa Daura, Zone 5, Benin; Christopher Dega, Zone 8,Lokoja; Usman Gwarry, Zone 9, Umuahia; Bala Hassan, Zone 10,Sokoto; Mohammed Gana, Zone 12, Bauchi and Sule Mamman, AIG Force Secretary, Abuja.

Others are Adisa Bolanta, Police Academy; Edgar Nanakumo, Force Animal Branch; Sabo Ibrahim, Border patrol; Wilfred Obute, Armament FHQ; Ibrahim Maishanu, Force Info-tech; Yahaya Ardo, CTU, Abuja; and Buhari Tanko, Special Duty.

In the statement by Ojukwu, Abba charged the affected officers to bring their experience to bear on their new postings and be more service-oriented in the discharge of their duties.”

He also urged the public to help the police in ensuring improved safety and security of the country.

Credit: Adelani Adepegba/Punch


Post a Comment

Be sociable, share your opinion!
Post a Comment :)