Atletico Madrid won first La Liga in 18 years

Atletico Madrid won La Liga for the first time since 1996 by securing a draw in a pulsating match at Barcelona.

Striker Diego Costa went off injured for Atletico early on and Barcelona capitalised as Alexis Sanchez smashed in a superb opener.

Atletico came out strong in the second half as David Villa hit the post before Diego Godin headed an equaliser.

Barcelona would have won the title with a win and Dani Alves went close with a fierce drive, but Atletico held on.

The final whistle was greeted by wild celebrations from the Atletico players and coaching staff, while the entire Nou Camp stood to applaud Diego Simeone's side as they finally ended the Barcelona-Real Madrid duopoly in Spanish football.

The draw meant Atletico finished first with 90 points, three ahead of Barcelona and Real.