27 of the 30 members of Sokoto House of Assembly decamp to APC

The majority of the members of the Sokoto State House of Assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress, APC, from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Twenty seven out of the 30 members of the Assembly took the decision to move the APC on Wednesday, lawmakers said.

The Chairman of the House Committee on Information, Malami Basakkwace, informed Premium Times that the members decided to move to the APC to follow the state governor, Aliyu Wamakko, who was one of the five governors that defected to the APC.
“We are moving in line the decision of his Excellency Governor Aliyu Wamakko to also move over to the APC,” he said. The defectors include the speaker of the assembly and other principal officials.
Mr. Basakkwace also said since the defection of the governors, people from the 27 constituencies have mounted pressure on the legislators to follow the governor. He added that the crisis in the PDP, which led to the factionalisation of the party at both state and national level, also made them leave.

Another member, Abdulsamad Dasuki, said that Nigeria’s constitution allows them freedom of association, and that the crisis in the PDP appears to be increasing by the day.
“The PDP Umbrella is torn and we have to follow the wishes of our people,” he said.
Mr. Dasuki also said the three remaining members may also defect.
“I am sure they would do the same when they finally came back, they were absent today (Wednesday) due to illness and other commitments,” he said.
Mr. Wamakko had, alongside four of his fellow governors – Rabiu Kwankwaso of Kano, Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers, Murtala Nyako of Adamawa and Ahmed Abdulfatah of Kwara- announced in October their decision to defect to the APC.

Credit: Sani Tukur/Premium Times


  1. This APC abi na ups is fast turning to new*PDP. Its now full of the bad and corrupt leaders


Post a Comment

Be sociable, share your opinion!
Post a Comment :)