37 PDP lawmakers defect to APC

37 members of the House of Representatives who were formerly under the umbrella of the Peoples’ Democratic Party have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers said that they are joining the APC due to “division and factionalisation” within the ruling party.

Decampees also said that their defection to the APC is in obedience to section 68, subsection 1G of the constitution.

Among the defectors are the Chairman, House Committee on Publicity, Mr. Zakari Mohammed, from Kwara State and Dakuku Peterside from Rivers State.

Tambuwal read out the names of the defectors on the floor and stood up to acknowledge their decision to abandon the PDP.

There was jubilation on the floor as the APC members hugged the defectors and shook hands with them.

For PDP members, most of them looked worried, but some of them shouted “PDP, power!”

The defectors soon filed before Tambuwal, shaking hands with him.