G7 governors (Baraje-led faction of PDP) join APC

The seven aggrieved People’s Democratic Party governors also known as the G7 have joined the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The Acting National Chairman of the now defunct new PDP, Mr Kawu Baraje told journalists that the merger is expected to rescue the nation’s fledgling democracy.

Governors of Kano, Rivers, Kwara and Niger states attended today’s press conference at the Kano Governors’ Lodge in Abuja where the announcement of the merger was made.

The G7 members are made up of Kwara State Governor, Ahmed Abdulfatah, Jigawa State Governor, Sule Lamido, that of Sokoto State, Aliyu Wamakko, Niger State Governor, Babangida Aliyu, the Governor of Kano State Rabiu Kwankwanso, Rivers State Governor, Chibuike Amaechi and Murtala Nyako of Adamawa State.

The split with the PDP is an aftermath of the crisis which began when the governors walked out of the Special Delegates Convention of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in August.

Also in the protest walk-out was a former Chairman of the PDP, Abubakar Baraje, and some senators.