APC limits BoT Chairman's tenure to a non-renewable period of 2 years

In an apparent bid to forestall power struggle among members of its Board of Trustees, if registered, the All Progressives Congress, APC, is limiting the tenure of the Board’s chairman to a non-renewable period of two years.

Similarly, the association wants to limit the number of years a member of the Board will serve to five.

These are contained in the 57-page constitution of the association, which was adopted about three weeks after series of meeting in Abuja by the merging parties.

The parties are the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN; Congress for Progressive Change, CPC; All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP; and a faction of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA.

Another prominent feature of the APC Constitution is the inclusion of past deputy senate presidents and deputy speakers as members of BoT, a provision which PDP frowns at.