BREAKING NEWS: Supreme Court Sacks Five State Governors (Bayelsa, Adamawa, Kogi, Cross River & Sokoto)

The supreme court this morning (friday, January 27) sacks five state governors, says their tenure expired in May 2011.

The five governors are Alhaji Ibrahim Idris (Kogi), Aliyu Wammako (Sokoto), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Liyel Imoke (Cross River) and Governor Timipre Sylva (Bayelsa).

In a unanimous decision, a 7-man panel of justices of the apex court, maintained that the affected governors exceeded the 4-years tenure that was specifically stipulated in section 180(2) of the 1999 constitution.

Counsequently, it made an order setting aside the two lower courts judgments that ab-initio elongated the tenure of the governors till this year.