Jonathan, Obasanjo, Anenih, PDP Governors Storm Lokoja For Kogi State Governorship Election

With less than five days to the Kogi State governorship election, President Goodluck Jonathan, former President Olusegun Obasanjo, former Minister of Works, Chief Tony Anenih, governors elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) will Monday storm the state to drum support for the party’s governorship candidate in the December 3 governorship election, Idris Wada.

President Jonathan, Obasanjo and Anenih are part of the national campaign team announced by the party to canvass support for Wada. The national campaign team is headed by President Jonathan and is made up of former President Obasanjo; Vice-President Namadi Sambo; Senate President, David Mark; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Aminu Tambuwal; and all PDP governors from the north central zone, the Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF), Hon. Chibuike Amaechi and former chairman of the PDP Board of Trustees (BoT), Chief Anenih.

The campaign team looks like a reaction to the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) campaign earlier this week where all the ACN governors attended a campaign rally to boost the chances of Prince Abubakar Audu, winning the governorship election. A statement signed by the National Publicity Secretary of PDP, Prof. Ahmed Alkali, said the other members of the campaign team includes, Chief Tony Anenih; all PDP governors from the North Central, all PDP senators from the North Central, all PDP house of reps members from the North Central and all PDP ministers from the North Central.

The National Legal Adviser, Chief Olusola Oke will serve as Secretary. Other members of the national campaign committee include, the National Organising Secretary, Prince Uche Secondus; National Woman Leader of PDP, Hajia Inna Ciroma; National Publicity Secretary, Prof. Rufai Ahmed Alkali and the Special Adviser to the President on Political Matters, Ahmed Ali Gulak; National Youth Leader, Umar Garba Chiza (NYL), as well as the National Vice Chairman for the zone, Yusuf Ayitogo. 

The statement said he national campaign team include Prof. Jerry Gana; Mr. Abdullahi Kure; Senator Tunde Ogbeha; Mrs. Sarah Jibril (SA to President), Dr. Amadu Ali; Chief Bayo Ojo (SAN), the Speaker, Kogi State House of Assembly, Alhaji Isa Kutepa; and Mr. Olusola Akanmode, who is the Director General of the state campaign. Meanwhile, the Bayelsa State Resident Non-Indigenes Forum has expressed joy and hope over the Victory of Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson at the PDP Primaries in the state.

This was contained in an address presented By Chief Sunny Anthony Chukwuezi, Chairman of the forum when the group paid a courtesy and thank you visit to His Royal Highness King A.J. Turner, Obigbo Mikimiki I of Opume kingdom in his palace. Chief Chukwuezi stated that: “As a result of the unpleasant political developments in the state, most of the non-indigenes had wound down their business activities. However, he added that with the emergence of Hon. Seriake Dickson as the PDP flag bearer, there is now a renewed hope and a light at the end of the tunnel.”

The group therefore, pledged their unalloyed Support for Dickson as they thanked HRH A.J Turner saying “permit us to acknowledge and appreciate your efforts and sacrifices toward bringing that hope and light to manifestation. He prayed for peace and stability in Bayelsa urging all political parties, interest groups and associations to come together in one accord to move the state forward. He stated that the welfare and wellbeing of residents of the state should be of utmost importance to all stakeholders.

In his response, HRH King A.J. Turner thanked the group for their support and called well meaning Nigerians and Bayelsans to embrace the peace and calm that that has returned to Bayelsa by taking advantage of the reconciliation efforts presently going.